National Apprenticeship Awards 2020 Now Open for Entries

CALLING ALL APPRENTICES, employers, and individuals who champion apprenticeships – as the National Apprenticeship Awards 2020 are now open for entries.

Back for their 17th year, the National Apprenticeship Awards are an opportunity to showcase the apprentices and employers who have gone above and beyond, in spite of the challenges faced during this pandemic.

Entries to the awards are open until 25 September 2020 and this year’s winners will be recognised via virtual ceremonies.

These ceremonies will also champion employers, apprentices and apprenticeship champions from all sectors – including construction.

Peter Mucklow, Director of Apprenticeships, Education and Skills Funding Agency said: “It is important that we continue to recognise the employers of all sizes, apprentices and those who champion apprentices during this unprecedented time.

Regional Virtual Ceremonies

This year will see, for the first time, the winners and highly commended announced at regional and national virtual ceremonies.

Categories for the National Apprenticeship Awards 2020 are:

Employer of the Year categories

  • SME Employer of the Year (for organisations with 1 to 249 employees)
  • Large Employer of the Year (for organisations with 250 to 4,999 employees)
  • Macro Employer of the Year (for organisations with 5,000+ employees)
  • Recruitment Excellence (the winner is selected from Employer of the Year award entries, and will be awarded to an organisation that has recruited a diverse and high quality apprenticeship workforce).

Apprentice of the Year categories

  • Intermediate Level (level 2)
  • Advanced Level (level 3)
  • Higher or Degree Level (level 4 or higher)
  • Rising Star1(nominated by their employer, this award recognises apprentices that have made impressive progress in their career to date, and have the potential to go even further).
  • Apprentice Champion (recognises individuals who go ‘above and beyond’ to champion apprenticeships. The nomination is made by a colleague or contact who recognises an individual’s ‘champion’ credentials).

Entries to the awards close on 25 September. Regional ceremonies will take place between 2 and 6 November, with the national ceremony taking place on Wednesday 25 November.

Click here to enter the National Apprenticeship Awards 2020, or to sign up to the mailing list.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here