New Chair for Institute of Roofing and Board Changes

Headshot of the new Institute Chair
Sarah Spink IoR Chair, LRWA CEO

THE INSTITUTE OF ROOFING (IoR) has appointed Sarah Spink, MIoR as its new Chair.

With more than 15 years’ experience of the roofing industry, Sarah is CEO of the Liquid Roofing and Waterproofing Association (LRWA) and has been an IoR board director since 2018.

Sarah will be supported by Steven Cookson (FIoR) who remains Vice Chair while Alex Owens (FIoR) remains Honorary Treasurer.

Institute of Roofing Chair

Speaking about her appointment, Sarah Spink said: “I am proud to be voted chair by the board and looking forward to collaborating with the CEO and other professionals in the Institute to help drive positive change.

“It is important that roofing has a body which can develop qualifications to help plug the gaps for professionals working across the industry. The IoR’s work will also help individuals to demonstrate competency in their role in line with the recommendations following Grenfell and the Hackitt report.”

In addition to appointing a new Chair, the Institute has voted for three co-opted board members to become full board directors, including Kate Whatley (FIoR), Carlton Jones (FIoR) and Michael Hallé (MIoR).

Graeme Millar (FIoR), Matthew Fry (FIoR) and Martin Adwick (FIoR) have resigned from the board, but remain as co-opted board members.

Kay Rose (FIoR) CEO of the IoR said: “Sarah’s extensive industry knowledge, insights and skills will make her an ideal chair. As we head into an eventful year, I am looking forward to working with Sarah, Kate, Carlton, Michael and the rest of the board to deliver our objectives.

“On behalf of the IoR membership, I would also like to thank Graeme, Matthew and Martin for their years of unwavering support.”

>>Read more about the Institute of Roofing in the news