NHBC Health and Safety Commended Award Winners Named

Recognising and rewarding construction site managers’ commitment to and achievements in onsite health and safety, 57 UK site managers have been awarded Commended status in NHBC’s annual Health and Safety Awards.

In recent years health and safety has improved across the whole of the house-building industry. The Health and Safety Executive (HSE) reports 30 fatal injuries last year, down from the previous 5 year average of 44 construction related deaths.

House builders are also emphasising improving the standard of occupational health. Construction workers are 100 times more likely to die from an occupational disease than  an accident, and 80,000 construction workers suffer from work-related ill health each year. NHBC’s Health and Safety Awards celebrate the site managers who prioritise the health and wellbeing of their teams.

Increasingly the industry is showcasing and sharing best practice in health and safety, resulting in recent industry-leading practices now being adopted as the norm.

Stephen Ashworth, NHBC Health and Safety Services Manager, said: “The record number of entries we received this year shows that house builders are committed to driving up health and safety standards, and show a real desire to keep their colleagues and workplaces safe and healthy.

“Each Commended Winner understands and demonstrates that good health and safety practice is inextricably linked to good organisation, good quality and good customer service.

Stringent standards
“Our health and safety advisors make several visits to every winning site and have scored them against the highly stringent standards set for the competition.  We now have an outstanding shortlist of finalists; our independent panel of judges have definitely got their work cut out this year,” Stephen added.

The Commended Winners will go on to compete for the Highly Commended and National titles, to be announced at a Gala Awards evening in Birmingham on 6 July 2018, hosted by Britain’s top satirical impressionist, Rory Bremner.

For the full list of winners visit the NHBC’s website.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here